Frederike

esome Social Advertising Price Index Q4|2015

esome publishes the social media price index for the fourth quarter in 2015. The index represents price developments of the previous quarters and operates as benchmark due to advertising campaigns implemented by esome.

Christmas trade always intensifies the combat for consumers attention and purchasing power. In social media advertising this is indicated by rising CPMs in Q4/2015. At the same time users seem to be more active in the festive season, shown by growing CTRs and decreasing CPCs. Learn more about the developments across the different placements and also for different industries.

The data for this price index has been aggregated from over 170 clients advertising in the German market spanning all major industries.

Only data where a specific placement has been targeted has been included. Campaigns which targeted multiple placements (e.g. “Feed” or “Desktop”) are not included.

Data from Q4/2014 serves as the basis and all subsequent quarters have been normalized against Q4/2014.

The method for calculating the price evolution has changed since we first released our data for the previous quarter. Initially, we decided to give each client the same weight in calculating the price, regardless of their spending. However, this approach turned out to overly influence a client’s particularities and in the end did not necessarily correlate with the entire market’s evolution, thus skewing our findings. We additionally weighted the price evolution based on the client’s spend level to find more accurate results.

Mobile News Feed

As prognosticated in our last Price Index both CPM and CPC on mobile increased significantly in Q4 compared to Q3 (29 percent points more in case of CPM and a 12% more CPC compared to Q3/2015), but actually not in the predicted dimension. The rise in prices is a result of the greater demand for advertising inventory at the end of the year due to Christmas trade and ending fiscal years in many companies. However, the growth in mobile reach has been so high that the prices did not rise as much as expected. In the second half of 2015 the number of users who logged in on Facebook via mobile devices grew by nearly 10%.

To this we can see, that the CTR is 0.2 percent points higher than in the third quarter of 2015, which indicates a reduction of the relative costs per click and also for reach. The increasing CTR results from the higher usage of interactive ad formats such as video ads and carousel ads which are more attractive to users. Additionally, more and more websites are being optimized for mobile devices favoring the click on a link on your smartphone or tablet and thus pushing the CTR.

Our internal data shows that spends on mobile Facebook ads in Q4 have been three times higher in Year-on-Year (YoY) comparison.

Desktop News Feed

Although total spends on Desktop News Feed grew slightly in Q4, this placement has the lowest share of overall investments of all time by now. Absolut spends on Desktop News Feed have ranged in similar dimensions over the course of the past year while overall spends on Facebook advertising increased steadily.

At the same time the CPM has reached an all-time high in Q4: due to the raising demand by the end of the year the CPM for desktop ads increased to a level even 24 percent higher than in Q4/2014. Similar to Mobile Feed, CPCs increased in the past quarter but also CTR grew because of a higher acceptance of the used advertising formats.

Right Hand Side

In contrast to the rising CTR on all other Facebook placements, right hand side apparently lacks attractiveness: in Q4 the CTR sank to 80% of the Q3 value. This might be related to the intensified use of more attention drawing ad formats in Desktop Feed like video ads. Similar to Desktop Feed the CPM for right hand side reached the highest value so far and lies 165% above the level of Q4/2014, as predicted. Compared to Q3 the right hand side CPC rose as well but did not exceed the level of Q4/2014.

Instagram

Instagram has definitely arrived in the relevant set of important social advertising platforms in advertisers’ minds. According to our data Instagram spends in Q4/2015 have grown tremendously since opening the platform for advertisers in October. Time will show whether this intent to enter the new advertising environment has only been encouraged by the opportunities of bigger marketing budgets in Q4 or whether advertisers see Instagram as a relevant channel for constant ad distribution.

Also Instagram users have noticed the grown advertising efforts on the platform and seem to distinguish between ads and organic posts, illustrated by a considerably lower CTR compared to Q3. At the same time the CPC on Instagram increased tremendously caused by both the growing competition on the platform and the decreasing intent of users to click on ads.

Meanwhile, Instagram users generally could be reached at a lower price. The potential reach on Instagram in Q4/2015 was apparently high enough to cover the advertisers’ demand, because we have a lower CPM as in Q3/2015 in spite of the higher spends in this channel.

Industries

As announced in the last price index, we will prospectively break down performance developments to other interesting dimensions, starting with trends from the Telco and Automotive industry based on internal data.

The development in the Telco industry differs from the overall behaviour of Social Media performance. While we can observe a similar CPM trend compared to the whole market, Telco ads show a lower CTR than in Q3/2015 instead. The reason for this is the high share of Instagram budgets, so that the CTR for this social media channel impacts the overall result for the Telco performance. Compared to other industries the CPC did not increase as significantly from Q3 to Q4 (+24%) and even decreased by 50 percent in the YoY comparison.

In the Automotive industry an even stronger CPC-decrease in the YoY comparison can be observed – the cost per click went down by 84% compared with Q4/2014. Besides CPC also CPM could be lowered in the course of the year though absolute spends went up. In this industry interactive ad formats have been used actively, video ads in particular. However the CTR fluctuated over the year and did not show a steady development.

Outlook

In the last quarter of 2015 and especially in the Christmas season we have had a huge raise of budgets spent in Social Media (+76% versus Q3/2015). In the beginning of 2016 this high demand for advertising inventory in Social Media will, given the comparison between Q4/2014 and Q1/2015,  decrease to about 60% of the Q4/2015 value. This will also effect the CPM, which we expect to be lower both on Facebook and Instagram in Q1/2016.

Download here.

Your contact person

Kristin B.

Please contact us

Please fill out the form

Salutation

By sending this form you transfer the data named above to the esome advertising technologies GmbH. This data will be used to get in touch with you and to handle your concern. Your data will be stored three months at the most unless you do not request its erasure or unless the establishment of a steady business relation requires the retention. Please approch info@esome.com in case you want to have your data deleted, corrected or reviewed. Learn more about privacy at esome here.

Fields marked with a (*) are mandatory

Thank you for your message, we'll get in touch as soon as possible!

Frederike

esome Social Advertising Preis Index Q4|2015

esome veröffentlicht den Social Media Preis-Index für das vierte Quartal 2015. Dieser Index veranschaulicht anhand von Werbekampagnen, die durch esome umgesetzt wurden, die Preisentwicklung der vergangenen Quartale und dient Werbetreibenden als Benchmark. 

In der Weihnachtszeit steigt die Konkurrenz um die Aufmerksamkeit und Kaufkraft der Konsumenten in der Regel erheblich. Im Social Media Advertising zeigt sich dies durch steigende TKPs in Q4/2015. Allerdings scheinen die User in der Weihnachtszeit auch aktiver zu sein, was aus steigenden CTRs und sinkenden CPCs ersichtlich ist. Erfahren Sie hier mehr zu den Entwicklungen über die Platzierungen hinweg und auch zu Branchen-Trends.

Für diesen Preis-Index wurden die Kampagnendaten von über 170 Werbekunden aus dem deutschen Markt aus allen wichtigen Branchen aggregiert.

Es wurden nur Kampagnen berücksichtigt, deren Anzeigen auf eine der jeweiligen Platzierungen ausgerichtet wurden. Kampagnen, die verschiedene Platzierungen erreichen sollten, wurden nicht berücksichtigt.

Die Basis des Preis-Indexes bilden die Daten aus Q4/2014.

Die Methode zur Berechnung der Preisentwicklung wurde seit der ersten Veröffentlichung des Indexes angepasst. Ursprünglich wurde jeder Kunde gleich gewichtet in der Berechnung des Preisniveaus unabhängig von den absoluten Ausgaben. Allerdings wurde festgestellt, dass durch diese Herangehensweise die Eigenarten einzelner Kunden die Resultate so stark verzerren, dass die Ergebnisse nicht mehr die Gesamtentwicklung akkurat widerspiegeln. Dies ist der ausschlaggebende Grund dafür die Berechnungsmethode anzupassen und zukünftig die Daten nach absoluten Ausgaben auf Facebook zu gewichten, um bessere Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen.

Mobile News Feed

Wie in unserem letzten Preis Index prognostiziert, sind sowohl CPC als auch CPM in Q4 erheblich angestiegen, wenn auch nicht in dem erwarteten Maße. Verglichen mit Q3 hat sich der CPM in Q4 um 29 Prozentpunkte erhöht und der CPC hat zwölf Prozent Zuwachs erfahren. Die Preissteigerung resultiert aus der erhöhten Nachfrage für Werbeinventar zur Weihnachtszeit und anlässlich des Endes des Geschäftsjahres vieler Unternehmen. Aufgrund eines erheblichen Zuwachses an mobiler Reichweite stiegen die Preise allerdings nicht so stark wie erwartet. In der zweiten Jahreshälfte wuchs die Zahl der Facebook-Nutzer, die sich über mobile Geräte eingeloggt haben, um nahezu zehn Prozent.

Weiterhin können wir beobachten, dass die CTR um 0,2 Prozentpunkte höher ist als am dritten Quartal 2015, was eine Reduzierung der relativen Kosten für Klicks und Reichweite indiziert. Die gestiegene CTR resultiert aus der verstärkten Nutzung interaktiver Werbeformate wie Video und Carousel Ads, die für den User attraktiver sind. Zusätzlich werden mehr und mehr Webseiten für mobile Endgeräte optimiert, was die Erhöhung der Seitenbesuche über Smartphones und Tablets begünstigt und so die CTR im Mobile Feed nach oben treibt.

Unsere internen Daten zeigen, dass die Werbeausgaben für Facebook Anzeigen im Mobile Feed im vierten Quartal 2015 drei Mal höher waren als im gleichen Zeitraum des Vorjahres.

Desktop News Feed

Trotz eines leichten Wachstums der absoluten Werbeausgaben auf dem Desktop Newsfeed in Q4/2015 hat diese Platzierung den bisher niedrigsten Anteil an den Gesamtausgaben aller Zeiten. Die absoluten Ausgaben auf dem Desktop Feed haben sich das gesamte letzte Jahr in einem ähnlichen Rahmen bewegt, während die Gesamtausgaben auf Facebook stetig wuchsen.

Gleichzeitig hat der CPM im vierten Quartal 2015 den bisher höchsten Wert erreicht: aufgrund der gesteigerten Nachfrage nach Werbeinventar zum Ende des Jahres stieg der CPM für den Desktop Feed auf einen Wert, der noch 24 Prozent über dem Wert aus Q4/2014 lag. Ähnlich wie im Mobile Feed stieg auch der CPC für Desktop zum Ende des Jahres, ebenso wie die CTR aufgrund des verstärkten Einsatzes interaktiver Werbeformate.

Right Hand Side

Im Gegensatz zu Desktop und Mobile sank die CTR für die Right Hand Side in Q4/2015 auf 80% des Q3-Wertes, was für eine sinkende Attraktivität dieser Platzierung spricht. Diese Entwicklung mag mit der verstärkten Nutzung von aufmerksamkeitsstarken Werbeformaten wie Video Ads im Desktop News Feed zusammen hängen. Ähnlich wie im Desktop Feed erreichte der CPM für die RHS in Q4 den bisher höchsten Wert und lag sogar 164 Prozent über dem Wert des letzten Quartals 2014. Verglichen mit Q3/2015 stieg der CPC zum Ende des Jahres auf der RHS an, überschritt aber nicht das Vorjahresniveau von Q4/2014.

Instagram

Instagram ist definitiv im Bewusstsein für wichtige Social Advertising Plattformen der Werbetreibenden angekommen. Unseren internen Daten zufolge sind die Werbeausgaben zum Ende des vergangenen Jahres erheblich gestiegen. Ob diese Beherztheit beim Eintritt in ein neues Werbeumfeld durch die größeren Marketing-Budgets in Q4 begünstigt wurde oder ob Werbetreibende Instagram als relevanten Kanal für konstante Werbeausspielung wahrnehmen, wird die Zeit zeigen.

Auf der anderen Seite haben auch die Instagram User die verstärkten Werbemaßnahmen auf der Plattform wahrgenommen und entscheiden nun deutlicher zwischen organischem und bezahltem Content, was sich an einer deutlich gesunkenen CTR im Vergleich zu Q3/2015 beobachten lässt. Aufgrund der sinkenden Klick-Bereitschaft und der verschärften Konkurrenz um das Werbeinventar, ist der CPC im Vergleich zu Q3 erheblich angestiegen.

Grundsätzlich ist es allerdings günstiger geworden, Instagram User zu erreichen. Die potentielle Reichweite auf Instagram war offensichtlich so groß, dass die erhöhte Nachfrage nach Werbeinventar in Q4/2015 gedeckt werden konnte, da der CPM trotz gestiegener Werbeausgaben im Vergleich zu Q3/2015 gesunken ist.

Branchen

Wie im letzten Preis Index angekündigt, werden wir künftig Performance-Entwicklungen auf Facebook und Instagram auf weitere Dimensionen herunterbrechen; startend mit der Betrachtung der Telko- und Automobil-Branche auf Basis unserer internen Daten.

Die Entwicklungen im Bereich Telko heben sich vom Gesamtverhalten der Social Media Performance etwas ab. Während wir eine ähnliche Entwicklung des CPM wie im gesamten Markt beobachten können, weisen Telko-Anzeigen im Vergleich zu Q3/2015 eine geringere CTR auf. Grund hierfür ist der hohe Anteil an Instagram Werbeausgaben, was dazu führt das die niedrige CTR auf dieser Plattform die Gesamt-Performance für die Branche negativ beeinflusst. Verglichen mit anderen Branchen stieg der CPC für die Telko-Branche allerdings von Q3 zu Q4 nicht so signifikant und ging im Vergleich zum Vorjahreszeitraum sogar um 50% zurück.

In der Automobil-Branche kann eine noch größere Senkung des CPC beobachtet werden: die Kosten pro Klick sanken um 84% im Vergleich zum Vorjahreszeitraum. Auch der CPM konnte im Verlauf des Jahres gesenkt werden, obwohl die absoluten Werbeausgaben 2015 anstiegen. In dieser Branche wurden interaktive Anzeigenformate wie Video Ads besonders oft eingesetzt. Trotzdem schwankte die CTR im Jahresverlauf und zeigte keine konstante Entwicklung.

Ausblick

Im letzten Quartal des vergangenen Jahres und besonders in der Weihnachtszeit gab es enorme Anstiege in den Werbeausgaben (+76% im Vergleich zu Q3/2015). Diese hohe Nachfrage nach Werbeinventar auf Facebook und Instagram wird, basierend auf den Erfahrungen des vergangenen Jahres, im ersten Quartal 2016 vermutlich auf circa 60% der Ausgaben in Q4/2015 zurückgehen. Dies wird auch den CPM beeinflussen, der erwartungsgemäß sowohl auf Facebook als auch auf Instagram sinken wird.

Download hier.

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Felix

Schreiben Sie uns Ihr Anliegen

Bitte ergänzen Sie folgende Angaben

Anrede

Mit dem Absenden dieses Kontaktformulars übermitteln Sie die oben angegebenen Daten an die esome advertising technologies GmbH. Diese Daten werden zur Kontaktaufnahme und zur Bearbeitung Ihres Anliegens verwendet. Ihre Daten werden maximal drei Monate gespeichert, es sei denn, Sie verlangen die Löschung Ihrer Daten vor dieser Frist oder die Speicherung wird durch die Aufnahme einer dauerhaften Geschäftsbeziehung erforderlich. Bitte wenden Sie sich an info@esome.com sofern Sie Ihre Daten löschen, berichtigen oder einsehen möchten. Weitere Informationen zum Datenschutz erhalten Sie hier.

Die mit einem (*) gekennzeichneten Felder sind Pflichtfelder

Danke für Ihre Nachricht, wir werden uns bald melden!