Frederike

esome social advertising price index Q4|2017

esome publishes the social media price index for the fourth quarter in 2017. The index represents price developments of the previous quarters and operates as benchmark due to advertising campaigns implemented by esome. The current price index investigates the development of prices and budgets within a very competitive time of the year and can serve as an orientation for advertiser’s future campaigns on interactive platforms.

As known, the fourth quarter is the most intense quarter in regards to competition. Whilst trying to reach as many potential customers and call attention to their brands and products during the consumption-driven Christmas season, advertisers compete against each other for valuable advertising inventory. Due to this circumstance, prices reach a high in auction-based environments. And the fourth quarter of 2017 was no exception.

Advertising spendings increased in comparison to Q3 by 50 percent in Q4. The contact price rose by a third in that period of time. Thanks to a high user activity on Facebook and in the Facebook Audience Network (FAN), the cost per click (CPC) remained stable on all platforms. Because the majority of social advertising campaigns are running on Facebook, developments on this platform are significant for the entire development of prices within the industry and compensate negative developments on other platforms in the Q4 average. 

Taking a closer look at the weeks before and during Christmas, one can see some typical phenomenons: the advertising spend constantly rose from the beginning of October until December 25th and rapidly decreased after Christmas. The relation of different kinds of campaigns noticeably changed within this time period. While advertisers were focussing on branding campaigns up until six weeks before Christmas, transaction campaigns got more and more important the closer it got to Christmas.

Instagram went through a turbulent 2017 - The click-through-rate (CTR) and CPC were unsteady throughout the entire year. Only the CPM was stable for the most part. In comparison to Facbeook, the contact price on Instagram was still very cheap, despite a big leap from Q3 to Q4. Which again illustrates the focus on branding campaigns on that platform. 

Compared to that, prices in the FAN were cheap as well. The cost per mille (CPM) and CPC constantly increased over the year, but were still beneath the price level of other social networks. Out of all platforms, the CTR in the FAN still topped the list, eventhough it had to register a decrease, due to new metrics. 

Twitter and Snapchat recorded a strongly decreasing CTR in Q4, accompanied by high click price. While the CPM on Twitter decreased during last year and finally reached a level below the previous year in Q4, Snapchat had to register increasing prices. These developments were expectable for a platform, whose advertising options are still relatively young and whose number of active users grows strongly. Furthermore, the CPM on Snapchat was still very cheap, in spite of the significant increase compared to other platforms. 

Facebook announced a modification of its newsfeed algorithm at the beginnig of this year, which will show users more content from friends and family. Advertisers already fear this alteration, since they expect a noticeable collapse of organic reach. If and to what extent these changes will impact the organic reach and the prices in social advertising, we will show in our next esome price index. 

Download here.

Your contact person

Kristin B.

Please contact us

Please fill out the form

Salutation

By sending this form you transfer the data named above to the esome advertising technologies GmbH. This data will be used to get in touch with you and to handle your concern. Your data will be stored three months at the most unless you do not request its erasure or unless the establishment of a steady business relation requires the retention. Please approch info@esome.com in case you want to have your data deleted, corrected or reviewed. Learn more about privacy at esome here.

Fields marked with a (*) are mandatory

Thank you for your message, we'll get in touch as soon as possible!

Frederike

esome Social Advertising Preis Index Q4|2017

esome veröffentlicht den Social Media-Preis-Index für das vierte und gleichzeitig wettbewerbsintensivste Quartal 2017. Dieser Index veranschaulicht anhand von Werbekampagnen, die durch esome umgesetzt wurden, die Preisentwicklung der vergangenen Quartale und dient Werbetreibenden als Benchmark. Der Index Q4/2017 eruiert die Entwicklungen von Preisen und Budgets in einer sehr kompetitiven Zeit des Jahres und dient Werbetreibenden als Orientierung für künftige Kampagnen auf den interaktiven Plattformen.

Das vierte Quartal ist in der Werbebranche bekanntermaßen eines der wettbewerbs- intensivsten. Mit dem Ziel, möglichst viele potentielle Kunden vor und während der konsumreichen Zeit um Weihnachten auf ihre Marken und Produkte aufmerksam zu machen, konkurrieren Werbetreibende um wertvolles Werbeinventar, wodurch in biet-basierten Werbeumfeldern die Preise in die Höhe getrieben werden. Das vierte Quartal des Jahres 2017 stellte hierbei im Social Advertising keine Ausnahme dar.

Die Werbeausgaben stiegen im Vergleich zu Q3 in Q4 um 50 Prozent, der Kontaktpreis in demselben Zeitraum um ein Drittel. Dank erhöhter User-Aktivität auf Facebook und im Facebook Audience Network (FAN) blieb der Cost per Click (CPC) im Durchschnitt aller  Plattformen stabil. Da der Großteil der Social Advertising-Kampagnen auf Facebook läuft, sind dortige Entwicklungen maßgeblich für die Gesamtentwicklung der Preise in der Branche und glichen negative Entwicklungen auf anderen Plattformen im Q4-Durchschnitt aus.

Blickt man genauer auf die Wochen vor und um Weihnachten lassen sich einige typische Phänomene beobachten: Die Werbeausgaben stiegen konstant von Anfang Oktober bis zum 25. Dezember und nahmen nach Weihnachten rapide ab. Auch das Verhältnis der verschiedenen Kampagnen-Arten änderte sich merklich während dieser Zeit. Während Werbetreibende sechs Wochen vor Weihnachten noch einen hohen Fokus auf Branding legten, nahm der Anteil an Transaction-Kampagnen Richtung Weihnachten immer weiter zu.

Instagram hat ein bewegtes Jahr hinter sich – Click-Through-Rate (CTR) und CPC schwankten über den gesamten Jahresverlauf, einzig der CPM war den größten Teil des Jahres stabil. Im Vergleich zu Facebook war der Kontaktpreis auf Instagram trotz eines größeren Sprungs von Q3 zu Q4 immer noch sehr günstig, was den Fokus auf Branding-Kampagnen auf der Plattform verdeutlicht.

Ebenfalls günstig sind dazu im Vergleich die Preise im Facebook Audience Network. Zwar stiegen Cost per Mille (CPM) und CPC konstant über das vergangene Jahr hinweg, bewegten sich jedoch weiterhin unter dem Preisniveau aller anderen Plattformen. Die CTR im FAN führte trotz eines starken, Metrik-bedingten Abfalls im Lauf des vergangenen Jahres weiterhin die Bestenliste unter den Plattformen an.

Twitter und Snapchat verzeichneten in Q4 eine stark abfallende CTR und damit einhergehend, steigende Klickpreise. Während der CPM auf Twitter über das Jahr sank und sich in Q4 weit unter dem Niveau des Vorjahres bewegte, musste Snapchat Preissteigerungen verzeichnen. Dies sind allerdings erwartbare Entwicklungen bei einer Plattform, deren Werbemöglichkeiten noch verhältnismäßig jung sind und auf der die Anzahl der aktiven Werbetreibenden stark zunimmt. Darüber hinaus ist der CPM auf Snapchat trotz eines deutlichen Anstiegs im Plattformvergleich immer noch sehr günstig. 

 Nachdem Facebook zu Beginn dieses Jahres eine Umstellung des Newsfeed-Algorithmus ankündigte, nach der User mehr Inhalte von Freunden und Familienmitgliedern sehen sollen, befürchten Werbetreibende ein merkliches Einbrechen der organischen Reichweite. Ob und wie sich die Änderungen auf die organische Reichweite und die Preise im Social Advertising auswirken, wird der nächste esome Preis-Index zeigen.

Zum Download geht es hier entlang. 

Ihr Ansprechpartner

Felix

Schreiben Sie uns Ihr Anliegen

Bitte ergänzen Sie folgende Angaben

Anrede

Mit dem Absenden dieses Kontaktformulars übermitteln Sie die oben angegebenen Daten an die esome advertising technologies GmbH. Diese Daten werden zur Kontaktaufnahme und zur Bearbeitung Ihres Anliegens verwendet. Ihre Daten werden maximal drei Monate gespeichert, es sei denn, Sie verlangen die Löschung Ihrer Daten vor dieser Frist oder die Speicherung wird durch die Aufnahme einer dauerhaften Geschäftsbeziehung erforderlich. Bitte wenden Sie sich an info@esome.com sofern Sie Ihre Daten löschen, berichtigen oder einsehen möchten. Weitere Informationen zum Datenschutz erhalten Sie hier.

Die mit einem (*) gekennzeichneten Felder sind Pflichtfelder

Danke für Ihre Nachricht, wir werden uns bald melden!